Manitoba Moose will play in the AHL’s New Central Division

The AHL and the Manitoba Moose announce realignment –

The American Hockey League has realigned its conferences and divisions for the upcoming 2015-16 season.  The American Hockey League still has a thirty team league for the upcoming 2015-16 season but with a very different look.  Last season each conference had three divisions with five teams in each. 

The Western Conference had the North, Midwest, and West Divisions.  This season, they will be replaced by the eight team Central Divisions and the seven team Pacific Division.

The Eastern Conference had the Atlantic, Northeast and East Divisions.  This season, they will also be replaced by the eight team Atlantic Division and the seven team North Division.

Central Division

1. Charlotte Checkers (Carolina Hurricanes)

2. Chicago Wolves (St. Louis Blues)

3. Grand Rapids Griffins (Detroit Red Wings)

4. Iowa Wild (Minnesota Wild)

5. Lake Erie Monsters (Columbus Blue Jackets)

6. Milwaukee Admirals (Nashville Predators)

7. Rockford IceHogs (Chicago Blackhawks)

8. Manitoba Moose (Winnipeg Jets)

The Winnipeg Jets and their former AHL affiliate in St. John’s, the IceCaps, played in the Eastern Conference’s Atlantic Division from 2011 to 2015. The original Manitoba Moose played in the AHL’s Canadian Division from 2001 to 2003 and in the North Division from 2003 to 2011.


Blog Stats

  • 179,868 hits