The Western Canada Cup

Dauphin, Manitoba Playing Host To The Second Western Canada Cup —

The Western Canada Cup (WCC) is the Junior A hockey championship for the champions of the British Columbia Hockey League (BCHL), Alberta Junior Hockey League (AJHL), Saskatchewan Junior Hockey League (SJHL) and the Manitoba Junior Hockey League (MJHL).

The tournament features a five-team round robin  followed by playoffs, which utilize the page playoff system (popularised in Mens and Womens Curling).  The winners on the BCHL, AJHL, SJHL, MJHL and the host team will the five participating teams.  The winner and runner-up from the event move on to the Royal Bank Cup, the National Junior A Championship.

The WCC has now replaced the Doyle Cup (winner of the BCHL Champions and AJHL Champions) and the Anavet Cup (winner of the SJHL Champions) and MJHL Champions)

The inaugural Western Canadian Championship (WCC) took place in 2013 in Nanaimo, B.C.

The 2014 Western Canada Cup will be hosted by the MJHL and will be played at Credit Union Place in Dauphin, Manitoba from April 26 to May 4, 2014

2014 Teams


The format for the Western Canadian Championship will feature a 13 game tournament with a round robin, two semifinals and a championship game.

Round Robin Schedule



Blog Stats

  • 182,408 hits