Portage Terriers WIN RBC Cup

Portage Terriers Win a third National Championship for the MJHL –

The Portage Terriers have won the first National Junior ‘A’ Hockey Championship for Manitoba and the MJHL (third overall) since 1974.  Back then it was known as the Centennial Cup and it was won by the Selkirk Steelers in 1974 and by the Portage Terriers one year earlier in 1973.

The Terriers defeated the Carleton Place Canadians 5-2 to become the seventh “Host Team” to win the championship and the first in ten years.  
The Portage Terriers celebrated their 5-2 win in front of a sold out crowd at the PCU Centre in Portage la Prairie, Manitoba and in front of a national television audience on TSN.
Terriers forwards Brad Bowles and Zack Waldvogel lead tournament scoring with nine points each while Portage Terriers goalkeeper Zac Robidoux lead the tournament with a 1.75 GAA and had a .923 SV% that was second overall to Carlton Place Canadians netminder Guillaume Therien.
Game Summary >>> here

 Portage Terriers

The Portage Terriers are the 2015 RBC Cup Champions

The Carleton Place Canadians had a terrific season but once again finished as the runner-up in the RBC Cup becoming the first team ever to finish as national runner-up in consecutive seasons.
The 2016 RBC Cup will be held in Lloydminster, Alberta next spring with the AJHL’s Lloydminster Bobcats playing host to Canada’s 46th National Junior A Championship.



Blog Stats

  • 182,266 hits