South East Prairie Thunder Win Allan Cup!

Manitoba’s South East Prairie Thunder bring home the Allan Cup –

For the second time in four years the South East Prairie Thunder playing out of Steinbach, Manitoba have captured one of Canada’s most prestigious trophies in the sport of hockey, the Allan Cup.  

The South East Prairie Thunder won the Allan Cup back in 2012 season and had to beat the Rosetown Red Wings in Rosetown, SK in the Manitoba/Saskatchewan Senior AAA finals to qualify for the 2015 Allan Cup.  They beat them in three straight games (5-0, 4-0 and 6-3) allowing them the privilege to travel to Clarenville, Newfoundland for a crack at their second championship in four years.

2015 Allan Cup Champions South East Prairie Thunder

The South East Prairie Thunder are the 2014-15 Allan Cup Champions

The Prairie Thunder had some local players from the Southeast region in Dale Butland from Steinbach and Ryan St. Laurent from Ile des Chenes.  Some other notable players on the team included former NHL veteran Terry Yake from the St. Louis Blues, Ryan Bonni from the Vancouver Canucks and former Manitoba Moose Justin Kurtz.

The Prairie Thunder’s roster was very well represented by players from Winnipeg and all across the province of Manitoba.  The team was formed with players that had previously played in the NHL as well as the AHL, ECHL, CHL, WHL, and Can-West University (CIS) hockey leagues. 

Allan Cup Stats:

AC Stats

Steve Christie was in goal for the 2-0 win in the final game and posted a stellar 1.25 GAA and a .963 SV% for the tournament.

Finals Summary:

Allan Cup summary

Allan Cup event summary

The South East Prairie Thunder will be the host team of the 2016 Allan Cup, which will be staged next April in Steinbach.

For more info on the 2015 Allan Cup click here 


Blog Stats

  • 181,489 hits