Winnipeg Blues Are Turnbull Cup Champions

The Winnipeg  Blues are MJHL Champions —

The Winnipeg Blues defeated the Dauphin Kings 5-1 to win the Turnbull Cup four games to one. 

This is the Winnipeg Blues first Manitoba Junior Hockey League championship since 2006 when they defeated the OCN Blizzard.

Winnipeg Blues MJHL340

                       MJHL Champions!                           photo courtesy of Winnipeg Blues

The Blues certainly did it the hard way.  They were the underdog in every series beating the 1st, 2nd and 3rd seeds.  They beat the defending champion Steinbach Pistons in the Addison Final then defeated the Sherwood Division Champion Dauphin Kings to win the Turnbull Cup, emblematic of junior hockey supremacy in Manitoba.  A magical run if there ever was one.

Quote from coach Don McGillivary:

“It’s obviously a great feeling.   I thought our guys played really, really well tonight.  It’s tough to close out a series, especially against a good club but we had a good push.  We earned our way, we beat the first seed, the second seed, the third seed, so we did what we needed to do.  We can feel very much that we earned the championship.”

Byron Spriggs

   Blues goalie Byron Spriggs          photo courtesy of Winnipeg Blues

Winnipeg Blues Byron Spriggs was named “Top Playoff Goaltender” and Blues forward Liam Bilton was the “Top Forward” leading the playoffs in scoring.

The Winnipeg Blues will continue their “Cinderella” season later this month when they represent Manitoba at the Western Canada Cup as the Turnbull Cup Champions (MJHL) along with the Dauphin Kings who are the host.

The 2014 Western Canada Cup will be hosted by the MJHL this year and will be played at Credit Union Place in Dauphin, Manitoba from April 26 to May 4, 2014.


Blog Stats

  • 181,804 hits