2013-14 Mike Ridley Annual Awards

2013-14 Mike Ridley Annual Awards Presented To Bison Hockey Players —

The Mike Ridley Awards were established in 2003-04 season as an endowment fund for the University of Manitoba.  For the 2013-14 season, there are 19 Bison men’s hockey players and four Bison women’s hockey players awarded based on exhibited superior athletic ability coupled with good academic standing and high level of leadership as a full-time student.  Each male student-athlete received $750 and each female student-athlete received $650.

Mike RidleyMike Ridley played with the Manitoba Bisons from 1983 to 1985 before embarking on a 12 year NHL career with the New York Rangers, Washington Capitals, Toronto Maple Leafs and Vancouver Canucks.  His last season as a professional was played with the Manitoba Moose. The Winnipeg native was the first Bison hockey player to have his jersey retired. Ridley’s number seven hangs from the rafters of the Max Bell Arena and was officially retired on January 26, 2004. 

Bison Sports Athletic Director Coleen Dufresne said,”Bison Sports is once again pleased by the generous annual support of Mike and Chris Ridley during the years.  It is with tremendous pride that these annual awards continue to assist very deserving Bison hockey players from both successful programs this year.”  

The following Bison hockey players are 2013-14 Mike Ridley Awards recipients:


Darren Bestland

Travis Bobbee

Luke Cain

Lee Christenson

Dane Crowley

Taylor Dickin

Deven Dubyk

Ian Duval

Dylan Kelly

Pierre Landry

Austin Lauder

Aaron Lewadniuk

Jesse Paradis

Luke Paulsen

Joey Rewucki

Brendan Rowinski

Jeremy Schappert

Craig Scott

Brock Sutherland



Rachèle Bosc

Jayden Skoleski  

Cassandra Taylor 

Kayleigh Wiens  

courtesy of GoBisons.ca




Blog Stats

  • 181,804 hits